Blind Guardian: “And Then There Was Silence”


Released: 2002
Album: A Night at the Opera

I have a friend who is a huge fan of the power metal band Blind Guardian, and a few years ago she was kind enough to alert me to the fact that their song “And Then There Was Silence” is about the Trojan War. The song’s fourteen-minute running time and my general disinterest in metal meant that it took me an embarrassingly long time to listen to the whole thing, but now it has really grown on me. Some of the lyrics are a bit heavy-handed, but I think I’m just going to have to accept that as being typical of songs based on mythology – especially songs that are at least partly from the point of view of Cassandra! Anyway, my favourite lyrics of the song come from the sequence (that seems to be) describing the events leading up to Hector’s death:

We don’t regret it
So many men have failed but now he’s gone
Go out and get it
The madman’s head it shall be thine
We don’t regret it
That someone else dies hidden in disguise
Go out and get it
Orion’s hound shines bright

As you will see as this blog progresses, I can be very forgiving of a work’s other flaws if I like the way it handles Hector’s death, and I do like the way this song handles Hector’s death. I also quite like the closest thing the song has to a chorus (the bit that starts with “Misty tales and poems lost”), and the way the lyrics aren’t afraid to jump around in time. If you’re a bit confused by that last feature, then allow me to link you to a forum’s interpretation of the lyrics and a fan site’s interpretation. And if you happen to disagree with one or both of those, then leave me a comment because I’d love to know what others think of these lyrics!

Buy it at: Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

