Three Plays I Wish I Could See

1) “Troilus and Cressida” at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival (video link)

I am a sucker for Shakespeare productions that change the settings of the plays; this one is set “against the backdrop of the U.S. conflict in the contemporary Middle East” and so, even though this video review isn’t totally keen on it, I’m pretty bummed that it’s playing on the other side of the world. Here’s the web site if any of you will be in Oregon this month.

2) 「トロイラスとクレシダ」 (“Troilus and Cressida”) in Tokyo
Believe it or not, this is not the production of “Troilus and Cressida” that I saw in Saitama, but an entirely different production coming up later this month in Tokyo. I won’t be able to see it due to work events, but having just watched a couple clips from this group’s previous bizarre productions I’m not sure I would be able to understand it anyway! Here’s the info for “Troilus and Cressida”; here’s the group’s main site.

3) “TROY! The Musical” at the Minnesota Fringe Festival (video link)

Okay, so apparently this one is over already, but clearly I need to buy a time machine so I can go back and see it. Women playing Hector, Achilles and Odysseus? The promise of jazz hands? An exclamation mark in the title? Clearly this could not have been anything but awesome.

Have you seen any of these productions? Leave a comment and let us know all about it! :)

One Trackback to “Three Plays I Wish I Could See”

Leave a Reply

