Fear Before the March of Flames: “Taking Cassandra to the End of the World Party”


Released: 2006
Album: The Always Open Mouth

Today’s musical interlude, “Taking Cassandra to the End of the World Party,” comes from experimental rock band Fear Before the March of Flames. As with many works based on the story of Cassandra, this song focuses on her inability to convince people that the future she sees will happen. I’ve listened to this song several times over the past year and I have never been able to decide what I think of it. The section that stands out to me the most begins at 1:10 and represents the other Trojans hurling insults and threats at Cassandra – an interesting idea although I don’t find it particularly pleasant to listen to. Perhaps this simply isn’t my kind of music? I actually think I like the unusual mixture of imagery found in the music video more than I like the actual song. I have a bit of a weakness for scenes in movies or music videos where the music builds behind images of characters moving or reacting slowly, so I really like the part at 1:47 where the song bursts out of the bridge accompanied by the simple image of Cassandra pouring a libation.

I have noticed a trend in which my fondness for these Trojan War-based songs grows about three sizes once I have written about them here, so perhaps by this time next week I will be in love with this one too. In the meantime, feel free to let me know what you think of it!

Buy it at: Amazon.com, Amazon.ca

Leave a Reply

