Three “Troilus and Cressida” Trailers

My confusing obsession with William Shakespeare’s “Troilus and Cressida” continues, although unfortunately not in any productive way. In the tradition of my Three Plays I Wish I Could See post, here are three “Troilus and Cressida”-related videos that I found while wasting time on YouTube.

1) “Troilus and Cressida” by Cheek by Jowl (video link)

This trailer is for British company Cheek by Jowl’s 2008 production of the play. The only sounds in this quiet trailer are hushed dialogue and haunting music; that and the colourless modern outfits make me think this production was going for a pretty unique tone. I would have loved to see it, although the clown mask seen on the web site would probably have given me nightmares for weeks.

Also on Cheek by Jowl’s YouTube channel is a trailer for a 2009 production of Jean Racine’s “Andromaque.” Which also would have given me nightmares for weeks.

2) “Troilus and Cressida” by Hillcrest High School (video link)

YouTube did not exist when I was in high school but man I would have loved to have trailers for the musical theatre shows I took part in. I am impressed both by the number of guys in this 2013 production (my high school could barely scrounge up enough guys for our Pride and Prejudice musical) and by the fact that a high school performing arts department took on “Troilus and Cressida,” which is not the easiest of plays! I think the music is mainly what sells this trailer but the play itself doesn’t look half bad and I genuinely love that Pandarus seems to have been played by a woman.

3) Road to the Globe: “Troilus & Cressida” (video link)

Unlike the above two trailers, this is not a trailer for the play itself; it’s for a documentary about the production of the play that was performed in Māori at the Globe Theatre’s Globe to Globe Festival in 2012. A documentary about “Troilus and Cressida” being performed in a different language?! This is at least three of my favourite things all together in one movie and I cannot wait to see it. In the meantime, I definitely plan to watch the thirty-minute video I found on YouTube about the process of translating the play into Maori (part one and part two). Update: Check out my review!

One Trackback to “Three “Troilus and Cressida” Trailers”

Leave a Reply

